Regents Professorship

David Weissbrodt

Law School, 2005 - 2018

Professor Weissbrodt is considered one of the world's leading international human rights scholars, teachers, and advocates. He is the first U.S. citizen to chair an United Nations human rights body since Eleanor Roosevelt, with his chairmanship of the United Nations Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights.

Christopher Uggen

Sociology and Law, College of Liberal Arts, 2016

Regents Professor Christopher Uggen, Distinguished McKnight Professor and Martindale Chair, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts (CLA), is a pioneer in the study of crime and punishment over the life course. He ranks among the nation’s most cited and productive criminologists.

Donald G. Truhlar

Chemistry, College of Science and Engineering, 2006

Donald G. Truhlar, Institute of Technology Distinguished Professor (1998), has served the University of Minnesota with distinction for more than thirty-five years. Considered among the top physical chemists in the world, he has made seminal contributions that have advanced chemistry and chemical physics in transformational ways.

Madelon M. Sprengnether

English, College of Liberal Arts, 2008-2017

Professor of English in the College of Liberal Arts, is nationally and internationally recognized scholar in the field of literature, women's studies and psychoanalysis. Her work is described as "profoundly creative, original, interdisciplinary, and transformative." She is considered an authority on Shakespeare.

Karen R. Seashore

Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development, College of Education and Human Devlopment, 2010

Regents Professor Karen R. Seashore, Robert Holms Beck Chair of Ideas in Education, is a professor in the Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy and Development in the College of Education and Human Development.

Steven Ruggles

History, College of Liberal Arts, 2008

Professor of History, Director of the Minnesota Population Center, and Distinguished McKnight Professor in the College of Liberal Arts, has been at the University of Minnesota since 1985.

Peter B. Reich

Forest Resources, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, 2007

Peter B.

Lawrence Que Jr.

Chemistry, College of Science and Engineering, 2009

Lawrence Que Jr. is a 3M/Alumni Distinguished Professor of Chemistry in the Institute of Technology at the University of Minnesota. He is considered to be an internationally acclaimed scholar who has made a tremendous impact in the field of bioinorganic chemistry. He has played a pioneering role in understanding the function that non-heme iron centers play in dioxygen activation in biology.

Stephen Polasky

Applied Economics, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences and Ecology, Evolution and Behavior, College of Biological Sciences, 2013

Regents Professor Stephen Polasky, Felser-Lampert Professor of Ecological/Environmental Economics in the Department of Applied Economics, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences and the Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior, College of Biological Science, joined the University of Minnesota faculty

Michael T. Osterholm

Public Health, School of Public Health, 2015

Michael T. Osterholm is the McKnight Presidential Endowed Chair in Public Health; Distinguished University Teaching Professor in the Division of Environmental Health Sciences in the School of Public Health; professor, Technological Leadership Institute in the College of Science and Engineering; and an adjunct professor in the School of Medicine. He also directs the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP).