Event Honoring the 2008 Regents Professors

On October 28 a reception at Eastcliff was held to honor the four University of Minnesota professors named Regents Professors in 2008.

The four named are physics professor Allen Goldman, history professor Steven Ruggles, geography professor Eric Sheppard and English professor Madelon Sprengnether. The Regents Professor designation is the highest level of recognition given to faculty by the university

"Year after year, Regents Professors represent the best and brightest in their fields, and this year's selection is no exception," said University of Minnesota President Robert Bruininks. "Their bold discoveries and commitment to excellence across a wide range of disciplines embody the mission and aspirations of a world-class research and land-grant university." The addition of the new Regents Professors increases the total number of current Regents Professorships to 27.

"Our new distinguished group of Regents Professors are exemplars of the academic excellence that abounds at the University of Minnesota," said Provost Thomas Sullivan. "Throughout their careers, professors Goldman, Ruggles, Sheppard and Sprengnether have produced outstanding academic contributions, engaged their students in the classroom and provided exceptional service, thereby enhancing the reputation of the University of Minnesota. It is a privilege to honor this group."